Getting a DUI in Arizona can be very expensive. Between fines, fees, costs of getting an interlock installed on your vehicle, mandatory classes and other miscellaneous costs—it is not cheap. We know it’s not cheap, but how much does a DUI actually cost? The answer is, it depends on a lot of different factors. I’ll break it down for you the best I can.
How much does an Arizona DUI lawyer cost?
One of the first steps after being arrested for a DUI is calling an attorney. It’s important to call an attorney right away because there are several deadlines that stat immediately after a person is arrested for a DUI. These need to be addressed right away. Lawyers in Arizona have a wide range on what they will charge for a DUI. As is usually true with most things in life, you generally get what you pay for when deciding which lawyer to hire. Lawyers can charge anywhere from a few thousand dollars, all the way up to around $10,000.
When looking for a DUI lawyer, it is important to ask the right questions so that you can sort out who is the best fit for you and the most knowledgeable in the area of DUI. The goal should be to find the right attorney so that you can mitigate other costs down the road and hopefully mitigate any damage to your record and reputation.
This is a really important step. To help you guide through your journey of finding the right attorney, I have created a fillable PDF for you to download that has 8 great questions you can ask any attorney to guide you in finding the right fit. Download a courtesy copy HERE.
How much are fines and fees for an Arizona DUI?
The fines and fees that come with a DUI conviction are hefty and they can be confusing to understand. There are several abatement fees and assessment charges that are outlined in the Arizona DUI statutes that make it difficult to understand. (ARS 28-1381, 28-1382) The bottom line is, there are legislated mandatory minimum fines and fees for DUI convictions in Arizona and it just depends on what you are convicted of and where you are convicted. For more on the different levels of DUI charges, click HERE.
A first-time regular DUI (.08 BAC or slightest degree) usually comes with fees that are in excess of $1,500 but less than $1,800. A first-time extreme DUI (.15 BAC) usually comes with fees that are around $2,500. A first-time super extreme DUI (.20 BAC) usually comes with costs around $3,500. Keep in mind that these are only estimates and that there are many variabilities such as jail costs and decisions made by judges or agreements made with prosecutors during plea negotiations. These numbers are simply meant to give folks a general idea about the costs. A free consultation with a DUI attorney like Steven Scharboneau will give you better idea of how your specific case might turn out.
How much are DUI Screening and Classes?
With any DUI conviction in Arizona, there will be mandatory classes required. There also may be additional classes that are required by the court, such as the Mother’s Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Victim Impact Panel. In addition to this, there may be classes you need to take to avoid further negative action from the MVD regarding your driver’s license. These costs can add up quick, so it is important to keep them in mind when thinking about the overall cost of a DUI and in considering you options when negotiating a plea agreement.
The class that is mandatory with every single DUI conviction in Arizona is the drug and alcohol treatment class. This involves a two-step process including a screening to determine the amount of hours needed and the actual DUI treatment classes. There are many providers who are court approved and offer this service, and finding the right attorney who can point you in the right direction is important here. These classes generally cost more than $500 total, but this number will greatly depend on where you go and how many hours of treatment you are required to do.
Another class that may be added on by a judge or prosecutor is the MADD victim impact panel. While not required as a mandatory minimum class, it is often added as part of plea negotiations or as an enhancement by the judge at sentencing. This class is available online and consists of victims of drunk driving sharing their stories. The class costs about $75.
In addition, Traffic Survival School may be required to avoid an additional license suspension. Eligibility to take the class will depend on several different factors in your case. There are many traffic survival schools to choose from in Arizona, and your Arizona DUI attorney should be able to point you in the right direction in choosing an Arizona Traffic Survival School. The cost of an Arizona Traffic Survival School is generally about $150.
How much does it cost to have an interlock installed on your car?
This will widely depend on where you go to have the interlock installed, calibrated and monitored. Some interlock companies will require installation fees, and others do not. For the Arizona interlock companies that do not require an installation fee, they usually have higher monthly or daily costs. For installation, it generally costs somewhere between $75 – $150. And generally, the cost for maintaining the interlock is $75-$150 per month. No matter how the interlock company structure their program, it’s safe to plan on the total cost for having an interlock for a year at about $2,000. If you have to have an interlock installed on your vehicle, your Arizona DUI attorney should be able to recommend a trustworthy company to you.
How do I choose an Arizona DUI attorney?
Choosing the right Arizona DUI attorney can be difficult. Attorney Steven Scharboneau is an honest and experienced DUI attorney who will answer your questions and discuss your case with you free of charge. He has a proven record of victories and a phenomenal reputation among previous clients and the legal community at large. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI or just have more questions, call or text Attorney Steven Scharboneau 24/7 at (480) 363-0090.